Versatile Bloggers

I was nominated four times for the Versatile Blogger Award. And I was humbled by each nomination and I was very happy and grateful for the award!!!


And now it’s my turn to nominate 15 others; this is indeed the difficult part of the job. :) Since the day I began blogging I have been exposed to several bloggers who are amazingly talented and very supportive. Their love and kindness has been my drive to write more and more. So this is my chance to nominate 15 of them for the same award. I already have my Fav Bloggers section on this blog, and almost all the nominees are from that list, which keeps growing! :D

The Rules

These are the rules that every nominee must comply with:

1. Thank the award-giver and link back to them in your post.
2. Share 7 things about yourself.
3. Pass this award along to 15 recently discovered blogs you enjoy reading.
4. Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know about the award.

I say THANK YOU to Isadora, Authormercedes, A Pakistani Boy, and Amira for nominating me!!! I am your biggest fan guys!! :) You are not only superb writers, but great supporters and motivators of others, you make many aspiring writers smile!!! Your unconditional love and support brightens my day, often way better than a morning sunshine!

Seven facts about me that you may wanna know: 

1. I am Ethiopian. I was born to ethnic Tegaru (Tigrayan) parents in a small village (and later moved to a small town) in Oromia, some hundred kilometers away southwest of Addis Ababa (New Flower, in Amharic), the capital city. I’ve never been to the region where my parents were born and raised, Tigray, which is the northern part of the country; I can’t wait to explore the entire Ethiopia in one trip. I treasure my cultural heritage; however, like Montesque, I am a citizen of humanity first and by necessity. Growing up, I was a shepherd boy; a cowboy; a would-be deacon in the Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahdo Church, one of the earliest Christian churches in the world, (I ended up not becoming one due to my strong interest in secular education as a young kid, and honestly I was more like Thomas, the great doubter, even at the age of 6 or 7, asking my father frustrating questions such as why God is up there, not here :D); and a student. Left everything behind me (including my family) at 17 for education abroad; and now I don’t know what the hell I am doing with my life. :)

2. I have a lot in common with Abraham in this particular situation: The LORD had said to Abram, “Leave your country, your people and your father’s household and go to the land I will show you.” Genesis 12:1. And Prophet Elyas (Elijah or Ilyas) is my favorite! Yeh, I am so biased, and I love my name! lol

3. I like Blueberry Muffin, Strawberries, Books, My Laptop and iPod, Lovely Songs, Sweet Poems, Beautiful Visual Arts, Mango, Cafe Mocha, Mini Cooper, Chai Latte, Papaya, Injera, and Vanilla Ice Cream! :D

4. I am a film fan, particularly Indie films (most Hollywood films are too money-driven as opposed to story-driven for me, but I do watch such films too. Who would hate Avatar or Ice Age or Wall-E?! :D).

5. I seek peace wherever I find it. Though I was raised as an Orthodox Christian, I am not religious in the dogmatic sense, meaning I am not necessarily attached to this or that religious doctrine. I am more of a spiritual person. I would enjoy going to a Buddhist temple as much as I would enjoy visiting a mosque or a church; this may have to do with the fact that I’ve Evangelical, Jewish, and Muslim relatives—some I’ve met, some I haven’t; they all live in different geographical locations, some close to where I grew up, some as far as Israel. I don’t believe in a God who thinks and acts like humans, like burning us in hell forever, I think that is too silly. My God cannot be a tyrant. In other words, I have difficulty believing in an Anthropomorphic God! I believe in an omnipresent Great Spirit (call it God, anything) that connects us all within the universe; that is not up there counting every mistake we make so that to punish us later on. I believe that Spirit guides us in the right direction; it exists within or around or beyond us, brightening our inner thoughts and feelings, and keeping the balance of nature.

6. I like people who think outside the box, people who dare to act different for the common good of all, people who challenge a status quo, a mainstream thinking, people who rebel against injustice, not just to appear cool, but because they strongly believe in what they say or do, and are committed to that. Having said that I am allergic to misguided, intolerant, ignorant, hypocrite, and extremely radical or extremely conservative people who give no damn about others but themselves. I cannot subscribe to religious fanaticism and political extremism. I am against racial or ethnic bias, no matter how it’s expressed; my blood is red, neither black nor white, and when I am dead, I rot and I become a skeleton just like everybody else; I only desire love to conquer the world.

7. I am the youngest child in my family. Currently, I am in my mid-twenties. I only have half-brothers and half-sisters that my parents brought in from earlier marriages, so am the only child from my father and my mother’s union. My siblings and I somehow represent the diversity in Ethiopia since they come from mixed ethnic backgrounds. :)

Now, let’s go to the big part of this post: the Nomination!

Alia S (a writer of beautiful short stories and poems! Alia in Wonderland! :))
Andthree (Awesome Ethiopian trios who blog about pretty much anything! :) You will enjoy their writing!)
Bindu (You may not like spicy food, but you will definitely like her spicy writing!!)
Charles Mashburn (Published blogger from Texas!! :) His bible inspired writings and poetry are delicious soul food!)
Classic NYer (You wanna get into a NYer state of mind? ;) Visit her!! She is an awesome writer!!)
Eva626 (Another NYer in da house! lol I discovered her page recently, boy, was I lucky!!)
Haibar Zair (A talented young writer who has the ability to express her emotions in such an awe-inspiring way!)
Judy (Awesome recipes, great writing, and a lovely personality!! Whenever I want a new recipe, I visit her page!! :))
Kay Salady (Sweet poetry!!)
Morning (What can I say? Morning’s blog is like a beautiful morning!!)
Sorealtonight (She’s so real! :) She tells you as it is. I discovered her blog recently and am enjoying it!)
Sound the Horn (An excellent Ethiopian blogger, she writes about so many interesting things that are often specific to the Horn of Africa region!)
Swanrose (Awesome poetry!!)
T Scott (You wanna be dehypnotized? :) Then visit his page!!  You will enjoy his writing style!!)
Zebiba (A superb blogger, originally from Eritrea; she started blogging recently, but she writes boldly and honestly about self–introspective topics!! And she has good ears for music!! :))

Congratulations all!!! :)

Please check them out! They are all amazing bloggers that I really admire!!! :)

Now, I can enjoy the rest of my evening guiltless; I was supposed to do this long time ago! :D

***

26 thoughts on “Versatile Bloggers

    • I do watch Bollywood movies, though I see them as too melodramatic! lol I in fact grew up watching them … and I love the songs! (Even my mom is an addict to those songs … such as I am a disco dancer, lol) … from the current generation, Rang De Basanti (Color of Sacrifice) is one of my favorites. :) And bring me any film by Mira Nair!! :D

      And you are so welcome!! :) You deserve it, kid!! :D

      • coolio…. rang de basanti was a really good one!!

        yea idk who mira nair is LOL.

        disco dancer? that song is SO old.. but better than the ones they have now a days. you know hindi/urdu ?

      • lol … ya disco dancer is SO old … for me it’s always enjoyable to listen to, brings back beautiful childhood memories where my friends and I used to sneak into this cheap video houses (our kind of multiplex cinema lol) to watch bootlegged versions of that and many other films for just 50 Ethiopian cents per show lol … (that’s if you get lucky that the cops don’t bust you!)

        you better google Mira Nair! .. If you have watched Monsoon Wedding, Mississippi Masala, Salaam Bombay, among her best films, then you must know her! :)

        No I don’t speak Hindi/Urdu, but I want to, especially Urdu .. :)

  1. greeat job Elijah!
    absolutely fascinating seven random stuff about you. thank you for the insight.
    It touched my heart deeply :)
    You are in fact a kid !!!! Now I believe you – rebelling against what you are SUPPOSED to do :D
    But such maturity and courage – i admire

    “my blood is red, neither black nor white, and when I am dead, I rot and I become a skeleton just like everybody else; I only desire love to conquer the world.”

    very well said.

    and cool nominations !!!

  2. Oh my goodness! I am speechless…<<that has to be a first! Thank you so much for honoring me. You are so kind. I feel very humbled to be amongst the wonderful blogs who have been nominated. Now I have work to do…I see! ;) OH…..I loved reading about your background…..beautifully written. Thanks again!

  3. I am deeply inspired by your autobiography and greatly honored to have been nominated by you, Elyas. It’s certainly a pleasure to be a part of such a wonderful group of writers, isn’t it? May you be blessed in every wonderful way.
    Kay Salady, Author
    Arizona, USA

  4. Pingback: Thank you for these honours! | I Think So

Leave a Reply

