Such a tricky business


She loved him so badly,
called him mr. king of kings;
she made him feel jolly,
compromising her needs,
but he walked out on her
when he saw another.

He loved, cherished,
and adored her like a fool;
he proved his madness,
building her a castle,
but she chose another,
and left him in the gutter.

Love is
such a tricky business.
Sometimes,
the more you give,
the less you get;
the more you get,
the less you give.

When feelings
aren’t mutual,
everything feels like
a horrible ritual.

Love hurts
when you confuse it
with love–like feelings.

Favors, sacrifices, …
forget these!
Never use them as leashes.
Won’t stop your lover
from leaving you for another.

Love is a two–way street;
whoever said that is so right!
There has to be give and take
for love to work.
If you love me, I will love you;
if you don’t, I shall forget you!
I will wait for my real sweet;
I won’t let love kill my spirit.

***

Inspired by Veeh’s post Love Hurts and the discussion that followed. :)

***

20 thoughts on “Such a tricky business

    • Oh, thank you for your kind words, and for linking your story here! It is such a sad, but carefully and wonderfully written story!! Quite interesting that stories have universality, proof that emotions are equally felt everywhere. Thank you for sharing it!

      • Yes indeed interesting! :) Unfortunately, we often face those feelings alone, so we come to the conclusion that we are the only ones feeling such misery, wretchedness, or happiness … whatever feeling that we experience at that particular time, but little do we know that there may be another soul somewhere in the universe who may be experiencing that exact feeling perhaps at that exact moment. :)

  1. another stunner Elijah:)
    quite a talent you got.

    “Love is a two–way street” – no arguing on that :P
    the problem arises when the road blocks on one lane …

    and this time i have my eyeglasses on :P and lol at the cute image. simply superb

    • Good morning Mermaid of the blue Maldivian ocean ;) … Thank you for the sweet compliments! :D

      … [well, if the two are up to the challenge, they can remove the road block together, and still enjoy the two-way lane! :P]

      Glad you’ve ur eyeglasses on … lol
      you could have missed the cutest pictcha of the year ;)

      • awww!!! the Mermaid sure had a good morning :D
        who wouldn’t after such a nice greeting!!!

        just curious:
        how long did it take you to write that piece? from conception to the write up.
        what triggered the thought to write that?

        [of course i don't expect answers to that]

        this wandering mind is also a very curious one :) so can’t help ask.

      • Glad to hear the Mermaid had a wonderful morning!! :D

        Ms Curious George, arentcha?? lol

        … umm it didn’t take me that long actually. As I mentioned it was Veeh’s post that inspired it. I read her story about the gentleman Lord Egerton. As you could see on her page, I rambled like crazy, perhaps more than I should [my comments are the longest on that post lol ...when it comes to "love" topics, I just can't hold my thoughts back lol horrible, isn't?] … So somewhere in my ramblings I wrote “love is such a tricky business” out of the blue … and when I re-read the comments I made there and that particular line, I thought that would make a good title for a new poem! lol just like we did the other day. So I gave myself a challenge right then to write a poem on that title, and I wrote the piece, I believe in less than 20 minutes. :D Posted it without editing, and then I made few changes after posting it. I usually edit the things I write after I post them; most of the poems are actually rough drafts, I just sit next to my laptop, write and post it whenever I feel it, sometimes I may have already written them on a notebook, yellow pad, or a napkin or some piece of paper, thats when I dont have my laptop with me lol … almost everything I have here is a daily post; unless I have a strong urge to rewrite the piece, I often leave it alone. … maybe one day I will have the time to sit down, and go through everything to make changes wherever necessary lol … now, does that answer your questions?? ;)

      • [George? how did that come up?]

        anyways, thank you for answering my answer-unexpected questions :P

        and it look like there is a similar pattern :)
        i also write stuff down whenever i have a pen and paper in hand.
        BUT the most craziest ideas to write comes while i’m speeding on my bike
        or walking on the road, or just somewhere with no paper nor pen :D

      • [you said, you were just curious, and that is how George came up. :D http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_5ekyNS_AIA Can you lose your shadow?? That's curious george type question. lol]

        “…the most craziest ideas to write comes while i’m speeding on my bike
        or walking on the road, or just somewhere with no paper nor pen!” Tell me about it!!! LOL … I usually have that kind of scenario, excepting the motor bike! :)

  2. This is such a beautiful and sad poem Elyas,you captured the moments so perfectly and the song you shared nailed it…

    This statement is just so raw “When feeling aren’t mutual everything feels like a horrible ritual” :(

    Love is a tricky business for sure, I wonder what the universe is trying to tell me because am seeing a lot of love posts lately :) check out this one, it touches on what love is not http://www.mazzastick.com/2011/12/16/how-is-that-love/

    • Hey Veeh, Thank you for stopping by and for leaving such a lovely comment! :) I enjoyed the article a lot! In fact, it summarizes well what I was trying to say on your post! :)

      These three paragraphs basically summed it all:

      Numerous authors have written books about Joe’s undying love for Marilyn. It has been said she was his greatest love. I am positive that would be true for Joe if he were able to tell us. But I would argue that while he may have had many feelings for her, love of her was not one of them.

      There was little about how he treated her during their brief marriage that indicated love. Possession, yes! Control, Yes! Rage, Yes? Threats and ultimatums, Yes!

      Appropriation absolutely! Appropriate as in the verb, “to lay claim to for oneself or one’s right.” Aaaaah, Appropriation!

      :)

      I kind of feel the same about the gentleman in your story, particularly on his reactions after his lover’s decision not to move with him to Kenya. If he had indeed been in love, he would have let go, and would have lived a more fulfilling life with someone else, but his later actions made him seem more like a possessive man, eventually becoming someone close to a misogynist—not allowing any woman come to his compound, I thought that was absurd.

      Glad you liked the music. :D

      lol the Universe always brings some good news.

  3. The poem rings really true to me. I loved it.Don’t mind me as I steal – I mean take inspiration from it for my own poetry. Heh.
    I love your writing style so much. The words are strung so simply, but the ideas are so REAL. I love it, love it, love it! :) Hehe. I should read more from you.

    • Oh thank you so much for your kind words! :) That means a lot to me!! … please feel free to use it as your inspiration. :) I also enjoy your writings and art works!! I wish I could be as creative as you, especially with the drawings!! :D

Leave a Reply

