Acid Violence

An Ethiopian acid attack victim

Baby, I love you,
I want to have you,
to control you!
You’re just mine,
you cannot say no,
I will cut your vein!
Baby, I love you,
I wanna own you,
You cannot say No!
No, no, no, no, no!
You must utter Yes,
the only response!
Baby, I love you!
I wanna own you!
You exist for me!
Can’t say no to me!

If I can’t have you,
I will attack you!
If I can’t have you,
no one will claim you!
I will ruin you!
You are my object,
my slave, my subject!
You’ve no free will,
for you are my kill!

If I don’t get Yes,
I shall burn your face!
Acid violence!
Sulfuric Acid!
You shall be ruined,
You shall be scarred!
Your pretty face,
it shall be a mess!
I will destroy
your self-confidence!
You shall live with shame!
You shall never dream!
And you shall suffer,
forever and ever!

So declares the monster!

***

In this article I’ve discussed the disturbing acid violence against women in an Ethiopian context.

Here is a film that won the Academy Award for Best Documentary (Short Subject) in 2012. I was very happy it won; this subject needs more media exposure as it continues to affect many women in various countries. I feel terribly sad for these women who have to go through such cruel violence.

Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy’s (co-director) acceptance speech:

Daniel and I want to dedicate this award to all the heroes working on the ground in Pakistan including Dr. Mohammad Jawad who’s here with us today, the plastic surgeon working on rehabilitating all these women, Rukhsana and Zakia who are our main subjects of the film whose resilience and bravery in the face of such adversity is admirable, and to all the women in Pakistan who are working for change, don’t give up on your dreams. This is for you.

***

“I was savagely disfigured by my deranged boyfriend.” — Katie Piper, acid attack victim from the UK:

11 thoughts on “Acid Violence

  1. Oh my goodness, this is so sad.

    Such cruelty just makes me want to cry. At least it is getting the much needed media exposure and the subject is no longer been spoken behind closed doors…

  2. How can they be so selfish and cold-blooded in the name of such a beautiful emotion called ‘love’? I liked the way you presented it – in the words of the ‘monster’ (as I started reading it confused and shocked me.)

  3. I think you transmit perfectly the pathetic bullying mindset of the monster who confuses ownership and control with some kind of love. This is hard to read, harder still to see these ruined faces–may life hold better things for all these women someday. Thanks for speaking up.

  4. This violence against women must stop. There is no more terrible a crime than robbing a person of their humanity. Whatever motivated this man to do this, there is simply no xcuse. I only pray rhis ihuman monster found justice. The society that breeds such violence must be replaced.

  5. atleast at this hour i dont have the strength to watch the video posted but whats sad is that as an ethiopian a women the many articles i read on different ethioopian media the videos i watched about women in 3rd world countries , their faces and stories are forever engraved in my mind and my heart never to leave me, haunting me every second of the day …but maybe when i do my part the way you are doing yours maybe then i can atleast be able to take a break and just breathe knowing i have stopped one domestic violence and if i cant stop that and save a women i could rest knowing that justice will be served and the monster would pay for what (he) did. thank you and please keep on writing!
    ~1EthiopiaWit

    ps i fb shared your post, i hope its legal :)

  6. that’s a touching documentary.
    So sad what happens among humans.
    Sometimes it’s hard to believe we are humans.
    surely they are monsters in disguise.
    how do we end up with men like them?!!!! :(

    And to think that my problems are grave!

    Just imagine what those women are going through
    and everything else looks so insignificant.

Leave a Reply

