My Wish, My Desire


My wish, my desire
is to bloom, to flower,
to write, to inspire,
to challenge, to empower,
to imagine, to color,
to love, to be with her
forever and ever.

My wish, my desire
is to feel
the beauty of eternal happiness,
to light
the rooms of infernal darkness,
to fight
against bitterness and injustice
forever and ever.

My wish, my desire
is to break
the walls of separation,
to build
bridges of connection,
to dissolve
borders of division,
to erase
memories of cruelty,
to heal
scars of inhumanity
forever and ever.

Amen.

***

Inspired by this new Amharic/Tigrigna re-mix:

Teddy Afro (Tewodros Kassahun) singing Tekle Tesfazghi’s Kemdlayey (Endefilagotey, I Follow My Wish, My Desire).

Teddy Afro (the one with the hat on) is a young, popular singer from Ethiopia who’s known for his beautiful love/socially conscious songs in Amharic; and Tekle Tesfazghi (RIP) was another young, popular Eritrean singer in Tigrigna whose songs are still loved by both Ethiopians and Eritreans—he was at the height of his singing career with the then ROHA Band (a once-popular band in Ethiopia composed of both Ethiopian and Eritrean musicians) in the 1980s, before Eritrea’s independence from Ethiopia in 1991.

12 thoughts on “My Wish, My Desire

  1. A wonderful wish with good intentions. You are a kind soul, Elyas.
    Keep on inspiring us.
    The song sounded really interesting – would be even more so if I understood the language. Wish I did.

    • Thank you ‘Nessa! :) Your words are always encouraging and you r very gracious! Thank you for your support! :) Am glad you enjoyed it!

      Yes, I like the song too. :D I will try to translate it for you soon so you can get the feel of it. :)

  2. آمين‎, āmīn to your wish, your desire – may it be granted, truly :)

    the part about building bridges amuses me to no end.
    The theme of the SAARC summit held in Maldives recently was building bridges
    - and with quite good intentions I am sure. but no sooner the summit ended …
    chaos happened over here.
    and I think we are far from building bridges among our neighouring South Asian countries.

    anyways, that’s another story.
    back to your desire and your wishes … nice piece … such universal desires … :)
    to grow, to empower, to love :)

    • Now, you are trying to make me jealous with the beautiful Arabic/Urdu script, arentcha, Mon Amie??? You so mean! :( :D lol … Thank you!! May your wishes, and desires be granted too!!!! And I mean that from the bottom of my heart! :) sounds cliche, right? lol but yeah, am a cliche myself, so deal with it! lol …

      SAARC summit, fantastic idea! :) Well, conflicts and tensions are always going to be around, as they are unavoidable facts of life, unfortunately, so don’t give up! :) Building great long lasting bridges takes having excellent engineers, and in this case, excellent social engineers with passion for peace and regional harmony! :)

      Thank you, Amira, for taking your time to bless me with your awesome thoughts and reflections!! :D

  3. Thanks Khushbu and Isadora! :)

    … for those curious: here is a rough translation of my favorite part of the lyrics:

    Kemdilaye annae kemdilaye
    biwedis kelibe,
    manew kelkaye?!

    … If I love from my heart,
    however way I want,
    who is going to stop me?! :D

Leave a Reply

