I have a dream …


I have a dream
that one day
a purple flower will bloom
inside my yellow heart
and I will love her scent.

I have a dream
that one day
we will swim
in the river of happiness
at least for eleven minutes.

I have a dream
that one day
we will overcome
those that fail to see us
beyond our facades.

I have a dream
that one day
we will climb
mountains of challenges
to inspire positive changes.

I have a dream
that one day
we will avoid doom,
remembering people like King,
and letting freedom ring.

I have a dream
that one day
I will make a film
like The Color Purple
about love and the human soul.

***

38 thoughts on “I have a dream …

  1. And I have a dream, a dream of faith. Faith~ that working together, we all can achieve the great dreams and goals you speak of so eloquently. Hard work and mountains of challenges, yes. Martin Luther King, Jr. said: “Faith is taking the first step, even when you
    don’t see the whole staircase.” Beautiful piece, Elyas, on an emotional day.

  2. wonderful dreams Elijah :) may all your dreams come true.

    you know! the curious George just came in and was asking “why eleven?”
    “I have a dream
    that one day
    we will swim
    in the river of happiness
    at least for eleven minutes” :D

  3. I have a dream
    that one day
    a purple flower will bloom
    inside my yellow heart
    and I will love her scent.

    These words are like honey. They roll off of your tongue and leave
    a delicious flavor.
    Your words are always so beautiful ….Elyas.

    Yellow Dreams to you,
    Isadora

    • Thank you Claudia! :) Your comment reminds me of this quote: “Keep your dreams alive. Understand to achieve anything requires faith and belief in yourself, vision, hard work, determination, and dedication. Remember all things are possible for those who believe.” —Gail Devers, a retired three-time Olympic champion in track and field for the US Olympic Team. :)

  4. Pingback: More Awards ☀ ღ ✌ ђคթթץ « MindBlur

  5. Congratulations on your recent nomination for the Hope Unites Globally HUG Award. To accept the award, please visit and follow the HUG Award Guidelines at http://ahopefortoday.com/2012/01/14/hope-unites-globally-hug-award-guidelines/. Please continue to let me know the names of persons and/or sites you nominate for this award by posting a comment on the HUG Award Guidelines page at http://ahopefortoday.com. May you be blessed as you continue the positive work you do for the good of all humanity.
    Blessings, Connie

Leave a Reply

