Memories …

Ah … memories.
Sometimes my enemies.
Sometimes my friends.

Memories of childhood,
growing up, family love,
brotherhood, sisterhood,
motherhood, fatherhood,
divorce, and of broken love.

Memories of sarbets, qorqorobets,
farms, farmers, oxen, cows, cowboys,
shepherds, sheep, goats, cats, dogs,
chickens, horses, mules, donkeys, crops,
coffee beans, leaves, grasses, trees, birds,
and of various domestic animals and plants.

Memories of honeybees, butterflies, houseflies, and of wasps.

Memories of green snakes,
laughing hyenas, rats, ducks, beetles,
lizards, shallow streams, dragonflies,
rivers, waterfalls, and of holy waters.

Memories of Churches,
Mosques, Fridays, Sundays, Tuesdays,
mills, and of open market days.

Memories of festivals,
national holidays,
religious celebrations,
overnight masses, cultural shows,
priests, sheiks, deacons, preachers,
and of gospel and menzuma singers.

Memories of colors, contrasts, hues, mosaics, and of textures.

Memories of elementary schools,
junior and higher schools,
best and worst teachers,
exams, labs, and of school clubs.

Memories of paved roads,
muddy trails, creepy alleys,
shanty towns, gated households,
shoeshine boys, horse-drawn gharis,
menafeshas, mana bashananassuqs,
cafes, kiosks, bunabets, bakeries, shaibets,
delalas, street vendors, thieves, homeless kids,
beggars, samaritans, and of construction workers.

Memories of villages,
cities, firewoods, tractors, blue cabs,
weyalas, urban and rural boys and girls,
hijab and netala styles,
and of conservative and liberal faces.

Memories of roses, yellow daises, and of purple daffodils.

Memories of beautiful moms,
dads, brothers, sisters,
aunts, uncles, cousins,
extended families, neighbors,
village elders, and of cute kids.

Memories of bullies,
ethnic slurs, bad police,
abduction of girls, FGMs,
corrupt officials, ignorants,
ethnic and religious extremists,
burned houses, burned churches,
burned mosques, and of burned peoples.

Memories of tolerance,
compassionate souls, greens,
yellows, reds, loving friends,
beautiful smiles, and of sweethearts.

Memories of love letters, heartbeats, winks, and of first kisses.

Memories of dance,
braveries, ethnic varieties, songs,
colorful murals, witchcrafts, handcrafts,
traditional paintings, modern abstracts,
folklores, crosses, tombs, obelisks,
ancient alphabets, languages, dialects,
manuscripts, romance novels, poetic juices,
radio narrations, TV dramas,
enchanting plays, okay films,
griots, and of Azmaris.

Sad and happy tears in my eyes.

***

Watching this video made me remember all the above memories:

17 thoughts on “Memories …

  1. Elyas….a very touching, but intensely interesting trip through your life growing up, your background, your world. I feel strong emotions over parts of it……for I wish that some things didn’t have to happen, those things that would instill fear in anyone. Bless you for sharing.

    • Thank you Judy! :D Yeah it’s a little intense, but some of our memories can be intense, right? :) In life there will be conflict, and there will be a resolution. I also wish some of the things didn’t happen, but they had happened, and they mustn’t be forgotten for we may repeat them again, and that is my greatest fear.

      • i’m always there man! and no need to get angry :smile: bercha?! is that why you changed the versatile blogger trophy to the green badge? right decision. it was high time you moved on from yellow to some other color. and green rocks!

      • What, you are always there? You mean you go back and forth? Dont make me more jealous than I already am, man! :lol: Am gonna choke you when I see you! :P

        Green can’t replace yellow, not for me! :D

  2. what a wonderful set of memories my friend :)

    some very sad some very happy
    some a bit glum some so very colourful
    some of misery some of sunshine
    but all in all that’s what we are made of
    memories, nostaligia
    thankful for sour times passed,
    wishing for good times to repeat.
    memories we will keep adding many more!
    with every single breathe we take :)

    thank you for sharing those memories :D

    • Thank you mon amie!! :D Your response is so delicious like the strawberry yogurt I just had minutes ago. ;) You know what, you should retouch it and repost it on your blog for it is an awesome poem by itself! :D

    • Thank you kid!! :D I try to forget my memories, but they always find a way to penetrate my heart’s rough walls. :) Funny thing is I don’t even keep diary properly, I try, but it never works for me, but my memories are still here regardless of it! :D

  3. Beautiful! Life is full of contrasts, contradictions and variety and they are all clearly reflected in this piece of poetry. Loved it, Elyas! What attracted me is the brevity with which you juxtaposed such a large number of images from your life.

  4. Memories, Woa, what a great post.. I just went to flash back.. :D

    Oops.. You have provided me so many links to learn to start off with Amharic .. Well i have started.. just now.. only letters.. I know I am late(very late) to provide you links, as i was messed up with lot of stuffs around (College, exams and so and so :( ) (hope you don’t mind).. at first I am going to give just basic if you haven’t started

    Just have a look.. its all about alphabets http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hufOU8ay04g

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fHUanX63lZU&feature=related (look at the description of the video too )

    Let me know, whether you are okay with it or not .. I will provide you other links soon.. There is even a softwares for hindi learning.. I will get to know the best one for you ;)

    And ya.. I have started of with this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BDoKd4zECOI
    Its really fun and exciting to learn Amharic .. Thank you Elyas.. :D :)

    • Wow, Khushbu, these are very helpful links!! I’ve already started my Hindi lessons! Dhanyawaad (Shukriya)!! :D Please do find me the best software, I shall look for the best Amharic software for you too! :) So excited!! … Urdu is next! ;) And Arabic, and so on… :)

  5. Pingback: More Awards ☀ ღ ✌ ɦǟքքʏ « MindBlur

Leave a Reply

