Musica


You let me express my emotions
You let me escape my tensions
You let me go down memory lanes
You let me dance like flowers
You let me feel blues and yellows

You let me hop on the soul train
You let me ponder and question
You let my eyes open
You let my tears rain

You ease my pain
You celebrate my gain
You invoke my chakras
You relax my nerves
You stroke my desires
You interpret my dreams

You take me into the depths of your ocean
You fly me to your moon and your heaven
You put me in a trance, you are a mystic
Sometimes you make me so nostalgic
Sometimes you throw me into your hell,
burning my heart like a charcoal

You expose injustice
You energize freedom seekers
You comfort broken souls
You catalyze romance
You heal wounded hearts
You unite divided fellas
You inspire creators
You delight solitary wanderers
You have magic powers
You soothe the mind
You fill the void

Sweet, sweet musica
from Europe or Africa,
from Asia or America,
from Australia or Antarctica,
sweet, sweet musica!

Sweet, sweet musica
from Venus or Mars,
a blessing to my existence.

Musica!
Que Linda Eres Tu!

***

31 thoughts on “Musica

  1. very nice! Music connects us to our emotions, memories and everything you mention. In a split second, a tune can take us back decades and we can feel the emotions we felt then.
    I could not live without those little notes on paper and the wonderful sounds they produce.
    Great poem…

    A short story~ When my son was a teenager watching a movie, someone sang “Hush Little Baby”. He shrieked…”Mom! You used to sing that to me….right?” I said…”Yes, I did, when you were a baby and I was rocking you to sleep.” Music is so powerful in our lives…it’s amazing how it can trigger a memory from 15 years earlier.

    • Thank you Judy! :) Yes music has such power that sometimes it takes you to a different world. Thank you for sharing the story about your son! :) I still remember the songs my mom used to sing when I was a kid! In fact, I wrote this poem because this morning I was talking to her and after the conversation I remembered one of her favorite songs … Not only I remembered the song but the picture of her singing appeared vividly in my mind. … She would sing that song and would always cry whenever she missed her birthplace and childhood memories—I would feel so sad and she would suddenly stop and would try to calm me down. :) So yeah I scribbled it after I talked with her … and re-touched it again a while ago. :)

      • Elyas….that is a beautiful story. Very sweet and tender. How cool that the conversation with your mom resulted in this wonderful poem, and brings thoughts of her to you. You must miss her. Thanks for sharing.

      • Judy, I miss her badly! :( If only I could translate the feeling into words! I don’t think I can. :( ..

        Her unconditional love, regardless of my weaknesses, is unmatchable. And my love for her is the same, unshakable. :D

  2. Hi, I clicked on you just because of your gravatar – I really like it! :)

    A wonderful poem. It really speaks. Sings, actually…

  3. oh mon ami. what a beautiful poem :) such beauty in it

    musica sweet musica … :)
    it surely helps us on gloomy days. it helps us to relax our blue minds.
    tt helps us share our joy. it helps create poisitive energy.

    I enjoyed the beginning … the middle … and the ending…. I enjoyed the whole poem :D

    sweet musica:
    “You comfort broken souls, You catalyze romance,
    You inspire creators, You have magic powers,
    You soothe the mind, You fill the void”

    Que Linda Eres Tu!
    just too cute :)

    • Thank you mon amie! :) Music is my caffeine! :D Goethe once said: [People] should hear a little music, read a little poetry, and see a fine picture every day of [their] life, in order that worldly cares may not obliterate the sense of the beautiful which God has implanted in the human soul. :D

      I would add movies to that list! :D

  4. Oh, I love love love this! I’m really emotional about music and your poem expressed so many things I feel about it. Y me gusta muchisimo el español acento al final! ;)

  5. Daebak!!!(Great in korean)
    The poem express greatly what is music.
    I always think, if there is one thing to connect people of world, it is music.
    Anyway was looking thru your pages..Nice poem..
    Seriously..where do u get your inspiration?
    I always have problem with words and expressing myself.

    • Thank you zupher! :) Am glad you enjoyed this piece! Oh, now I know one word in Korean! Awesome! :) I agree with you that music unites the world! I can listen to any music from any part of the world, and the fact I don’t need to know the meaning of the lyrics in order to enjoy and appreciate the song is amazing to me! … thank you for your kind compliment! It means a lot to me! :) My inspirations are often random, but to put them simply: music, my own life, friends, books, strangers, bloggers, life in general and the world around me. :)

Leave a Reply

